# Certifications
Practical SOC certifications compared: BTL1, CCDL1, HTB CDSA and TryHackMe SAL1
Multiple-choice exams such as Security+ test what you know. A practical exam puts you in front of logs, emails, disk images or a simulated alert queue and asks you to work an incident. For a first SOC role, many candidates want both: a recognised name for applications, and evidence that they can do the work. These four certifications are the practical options most often compared.
How are the four exams assessed?
| BTL1 | CCDL1 | HTB CDSA | TryHackMe SAL1 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Centri | CyberDefenders | Hack The Box | TryHackMe |
| Format | One practical incident-response exam | Investigation-based practical exam | Hands-on exam on hosted networks, plus a written incident report | 80 multiple-choice questions, then two SOC simulator scenarios |
| Time | 24 hours | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked | 6 hours of timed sections inside a 24-hour window |
| Multiple choice? | No | No | No | Yes, one section |
Sources: BTL1[Centri (BTL1)], CCDL1[CyberDefenders], HTB CDSA[Hack The Box], SAL1[TryHackMe].
HTB CDSA is the only one of the four that states a report requirement: completing the technical objectives is not enough, and candidates must write a commercial-grade incident report[Hack The Box]. If report writing is something you want to practise for interviews, that matters.
What do they cost, and what is included?
| Price on official page | Included | |
|---|---|---|
| BTL1 | £399 GBP (training and exam) | 4 months of course access, 23 browser labs with 100 hours of lab time, one exam and one free resit |
| CCDL1 | $599 USD (one-time) | Course, exam with 2 attempts, 4 months of CyberRange labs |
| HTB CDSA | No price shown on the certification page | Exam access after completing the SOC Analyst path |
| SAL1 | Conflicting: “$209” in one panel and “£299” in the FAQ | Exam plus one free retake; purchase valid for 12 months |
Sources: BTL1[Centri (BTL1)], CCDL1 pricing[CyberDefenders], HTB CDSA[Hack The Box], SAL1[TryHackMe].
BTL1 and CCDL1 bundle the training with the exam, so their prices are not directly comparable with an exam-only price. For HTB CDSA, the cost of the Hack The Box Academy access needed to complete the SOC Analyst path also has to be counted; we could not capture that pricing from an official page on our check date.
What do you need before you start?
- BTL1: no exam entry requirements; recommended experience shown as 0–2 years[Centri (BTL1)].
- CCDL1: recommended Windows and Linux fundamentals, basic command-line use and general networking knowledge[CyberDefenders].
- HTB CDSA: every module of the Academy’s “SOC Analyst” job-role path must be 100% complete before the exam can start[Hack The Box].
- SAL1: no formal prerequisites[TryHackMe].
Which one fits you?
Editorial judgment, based on the facts above rather than on hands-on testing of each exam:
- Lowest commitment, fastest start: SAL1, if you already use TryHackMe. Confirm the price at checkout.
- Broadest single practical exam at a mid-range price: BTL1 — its provider lists phishing analysis, forensics, SIEM investigation, log and network-traffic analysis and threat-actor research[Centri (BTL1)], with a free resit.
- Most lab time bundled, with Microsoft Sentinel and Splunk work: CCDL1.
- Most report-heavy, most up-front learning: HTB CDSA — good if you want the structure of a long path and a written deliverable, less good if you need a credential quickly.
None of these replaces a recognised knowledge exam for HR filters, and none is a guarantee of a job. The training planner shows how a practical exam can sit alongside a knowledge exam for your budget.
Certification records used here
- Blue Team Level 1 (BTL1) checked 2026-10-22
- CyberDefenders Certified CyberDefender Level 1 (CCDL1) checked 2026-10-22
- HTB Certified Defensive Security Analyst (HTB CDSA) checked 2026-10-22
- TryHackMe Security Analyst Level 1 (SAL1) checked 2026-10-22
Sources
- Centri (BTL1): www.centri.org/certifications/blue-team-level-1 — checked 2026-10-22, direct HTTP fetch and rendered in a headless browser
- CyberDefenders: cyberdefenders.org/certifications/certified-cyberdefender-level1/ — checked 2026-10-22, rendered in a headless browser
- CyberDefenders: cyberdefenders.org/pricing/ — checked 2026-10-22, rendered in a headless browser
- Hack The Box: academy.hackthebox.com/preview/certifications/htb-certified-defensive-security-analyst — checked 2026-10-22, rendered in a headless browser
- TryHackMe: tryhackme.com/certification/security-analyst-level-1 — checked 2026-10-22, rendered in a headless browser
Related guides
SOC analyst training paths by starting point, with real costs
Worked SOC analyst training plans for career changers, IT staff and junior analysts: what to take in which order, and what the verified prices add up to.
LetsDefend is moving to Hack The Box: what learners should know
LetsDefend content now lives in Hack The Box Academy and Labs, new releases are Hack The Box-only from October 15, and annual LetsDefend plans are no longer sold.
Security+ V7 vs V8: which exam should you take?
Security+ V8 (SY0-801) launches November 17, 2026 and V7 retires June 11, 2027. What changes in the domains, what stays the same, and how to choose.